Publisert av: ingridmogstad | 15. mars 2011

Hash-trips and Hospitals

And by writing «Hash-trips» I am not referring to the drug, I just wanted a catchy title so you would press this link! «Hash» is a global concept that happens in almost every big city in the world.  You can read about the phenomenon on Wikipedia here, and I’ll be bold enough to borrow a few sentences from the article to my blog:

«The Hash House Harriers (abbreviated to HHH, H3, or referred to simply as Hashing) is an international group of non-competitive running, social and drinking clubs. An event organized by a club is known as a Hash or Hash Run, with participants calling themselves Hashers.»

So running. Every Sunday about 20 people gather at the railway station in Phnom Penh to drive out to a place outside the city to run or walk for a couple of hours. This Sunday I walked, but next time I will try and run. As long as I drink enough on Saturday to have a chance of compensating for my loss of water.

After the run they gather in a circle where they drink (preferably) beer and sing dirty über-British (at least I think British) songs. At least in our group, which was somewhat dominated by middle-aged men from Australia, the States and Europe. Nonetheless, a fun (and a bit disturbing) way to end a workout. I must admit I found the circle a bit uncomfortable, but I think I’ll try it again because of the good workout and hopefully I’ll adjust.

So as you might have figured out by now, there is no correlation between the Hash-trip and the hospital. The hospital was not me, it was a friend of mine. In the middle of the night she decided she wanted to go to the hospital just in case (she didn’t feel well), not a bad decision when you’re in a country like Cambodia. I have heard many stories about terrible hospitals in Cambodia that you will leave with the condition you came with – and HIV. Nonsense, as long as you go to a decent hospital. We went to The Royal Ratanakk Hospital and they were very helpful and friendly. The biggest problem we had was actually the taxi. It took 40 minutes and three phone calls for it to arrive. In day time here you drown in tuktuks, but in the middle of the night even a taxi can be difficult to get hold of. Funny, funny country. But the hospital was nice, it was 25$ for a doctor’s appointment. She is much better today:)

Legg igjen en kommentar

Kategorier

